

The peak body for the building design profession

2022 AGM MINUTES

10 October 2022, 4pm

Chair:	Ingrid Hornung – President
Attendance:	as per attendance register
Apologies:	as per apologies register

Welcome

In declaring the meeting open at 4pm, the Chair welcomed all in attendance, especially Life Members and Fellows of the Association who were present. Following a welcome to country, Design Matters National sponsors were acknowledged.

Sponsor Presentations

Nikitas Smirnios from James Hardie

Design Excellence

Mr Darrin Albert from Sketch Design, who won the Building Design of the year 2022 for his "Iron House" project, addressed the meeting in an inspirational presentation about his successful project.

Minutes of previous AGM Meeting

The Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting, held on 1 November 2021, which had been made available on the website, were confirmed as an accurate record of the proceedings of that meeting.

Moved:	Greg Blanch
Seconded:	Peter Lombo
Outcome:	Carried

Treasurer's Report

Mr G Blanch presented an overview of his Treasurer's report made available to those in attendance on registration. The Treasurer, Mr Blanch, spoke briefly about the organisation's healthy finances.

Overall income is up by 35% primarily with the big contributors being increase in sponsorships, advertising and an increase in memberships.

Overall expenses are up by 8% with the big contributor being the revival of face-to-face events.

The financial report is available to view at the office by any full member, upon request.

Moved: John Harding-Smith

Seconded: Jason Saunders

Outcome: Carried

CEO Report

The CEO reported across membership and that DMN continues to be the peak body representing building designers and thermal performance assessors across Australia. She noted the structure of DMN's operations are more engaged with our National membership and continue to grow primarily from the loyalty of our members. She commented on just some of the advocacy work that DMN have been involved with this year which included the invitation to become a member with the Design Standards working group with the Victorian Building Authority, being contracted by the SA Government Department of Mining to develop the Net Zero Ready Homes Training program for builders for HIA and Master Builders Australia. Moving on to events for 2022, we have hosted over 150 events with many being in person.

Outgoing President's Address

Ms I Hornung present an overview of her time as President. Ms Hornung highlighted that as an organization, Design Matters National continues to support their members and it has been a pleasure to work with over 40 Committee of Management members as she has been on the Board for 20 years in total.

She highlighted that as an organization, she is proudest of how Design Matters National support and advocate for their members.

Ms Hornung concluded by thanking those who have served with her on the Committee of Management, the CEO and to all the members whom she had the pleasure of meeting and working with.

Resolutions

As per Resolutions document – all 6 regulations were passed upon voting.

Incoming Presidents Address

Peter Lombo thanked the previous President, Ingrid Hornung for her time serving the Committee of Management and for her significant contribution to Design Matters National. The incoming President reported that his time on the Committee of Management over the years has grown and will continue to grow but with the same values to support and advocate for our members. He commented that the DMN membership continues to increase in states and territories across Australia due to an increase in member engagement and contribution creating a healthy dynamic for Design Matters National. He concluded by thanking the CEO, the staff in the office and the Committee of Management.

General Business

A call for general business was made, with no general business arising. The AGM minutes will be made available on the member pages of Design Matters National website.

Close of Formalities

The Chair then thanked all the presenters, Design Matters National staff as well as all attendees and formally declared the meeting closed at 5.05pm.

Attendance Register

Ingrid Hornung Peter Lombo Greg Blanch Jason Saunders Catherine Ciavarella Jeremy Spencer Luke Middleton Tim Adams Alex Tsiligiannis Mikhaela Lombardozzi Joel Duncan Josh Fraser Wayne Gorman Travis Gould Matthew Graham Fiona Gregory John Harding-Smith Jaya Koirala Lisa Macleod Gregory McTavish **Michael Metters** Anders Silversten Adrian Smithwick Michael Tomlinson Sreedevi Vajagouni Kan Xiao Christina Zigouras

Apologies Register

Roy Hodgson Lanqing Li Matthew Morelli Griff Morris Hasan Sarac Ian Williamson Victoria Walker John Verginis